Skip to content

How I came to publish for Kindle.

July 18, 2011
My career in traditional print format began shortly after graduating from the University of Glasgow where I’d gained a Master of Arts degree with honours in English Language and Literature.  I entered and was a winner of the inaugural Canongate Prize for New Writing with my short story Choose Your Future.  This story became my first published work in the prize-winning anthology Scotland into the New Era.
From there I went on to win another short story competition, the EndPapers Tales Series, with my story The Waster’s Tale.  This was published in the anthology Glasgow Tales and I completed a post-graduate Master of Letters degree in Creative Writing at the University of St. Andrews.  Whilst at St. Andrews we put together an anthology for the course called Scores 4 to which I contributed a story Recycling.
Three months ago I bought a Kindle and decided to put together a collection of short stories to try out the burgeoning e-Book market.  I believe that e-Readers are revolutionising the publishing industry and that the complete artistic control and seventy percent royalties offered by Amazon are the way forward for authors. I also think that the short story form will be revitalised as the use of e-Readers and smart phone apps for reading become more prevalent in today’s increasingly fast paced society.
I’ve titled my e-Book Kindling and it collects my three previously published stories along with nine new stories.  It is written in a variety of styles and deals with a wide selection of themes, from the experimental second person narration of Choose Your Future to The Tell-Tale Trunk, a contemporary reworking of Edgar Allan Poe’s classic The Tell-Tale Heart.
Now I am concentrating on finishing off a novella called Glastonbury and then continuing work on my first novel.
From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Artistic control. That’s where its at. We’re no longer bound by the short-sightedness of traditional publishing houses. The sky is the limit, whether it be writing a book with an unconventional story structure or dealing with a controversial subject the majors don’t want to touch. In every form of media, the DIY age is taking over.

  2. I completely agree with you there Patrick. The publishing industry is being revolutionised by the new technologies available to both readers and writers.

  3. It’s a revolution which is only just beginning. Just downloaded your book Stephen, though it’s gone to my new birthday Kindle which I won’t get for a week.

    Good luck with your books.

Leave a Reply

